Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

88. Interview with Frank Doucoure

leave a comment »

who is anthony stephens?

Frank Doucoure is the general manager of a Key Foods Grocery Store in Queens, New York, where Earl Bishop was an employee for fifteen days before violating his parole. Standing in the storage area of the store, Mr. Doucoure hold a clipboard in his hand, checking off boxes as he speaks

16 August 2011

– Fucking kid, Bishop.

– Me and Jesús, we grew up together, you know? Owe the man my life.

– So I does him a favor with the Bishop kid, bring him in as a bag boy. Tells him he moves up to cashier in a few months if things go smooth, after a little whiles I might have an assistant manager position for him.

– Think about it, you know?

– Kid’s fresh out the pen and not only’s I’m offering him a job, but it’s got room for growth, expansion. Pretty sweet deal if you ask me.

– But no. This Bishop kid, he throws it right back in my face. Fucking kids nowadays.

– Bishop seems like he’ll work out for a while. A few issues with appearance. Kept telling him to get rid of the beard, but everyday he’d show up with his face looking like a black bear’s ass, no apologies.

– I let some things slide. Like I says, it’s a favor to Jesús.

– But then, one day, about two weeks after I hires the kid, Bishop’s bagging some guy’s groceries in lane ten and the guy’s telling him he wants his eggs in their own bag.

– Bishop’s packing the guy’s eggs in with the canned fruits and shit. Legitimate request, right?

– You got’s the right, if you’re a customer in my store, to ask for your eggs in their own bag.

– But, no. Bishop flips on the guy. Grabs his collar, pulls him over the counter and slams his head into the register.

– Poor cashier, this little high school girl named Katie—real cute, sweet girl, reminds me of my daughter—she’s shaking over in the corner whiles Bishop’s acting like a raving lunatic.

– Then he just walks out, leaves this mess for everybody else to clean up, a busted cash register and a customer with a bloody mouth and a broken nose.

– I’m telling you, these kids, got no respect no more for nobody, not even each other. Turning into a fucking madhouse out there, end a the world type of shit. I’m telling you, my generation, we was the end of sanity as we know it.

Next

 (Follow The Blog For Daily Excerpts From Future Chapters)

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?