Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

87. Interview with Jesús Hernandez: Part 2

leave a comment »

12 July 2011

– For the most part, yeah.

– He came in about eight times before he went AWOL. Twice a week for a month, and every time his eyes grew darker, his beard heavier, his voice deeper.

– Reading his file and the pretty normal things he did before he started burning down houses, it was like reverse metamorphosis to see him each visit. Like watching a butterfly turn back to a worm.

– I set him up with a job and checked in on him now and again where he was staying at with his delinquent cousin, Price—you talked to him yet?

– Bad news, that one there. Didn’t like Bishop staying with him at all, but he didn’t really have a choice.

– Well, everything seemed to be going decent for a little while. Until that one day.

– Less than two weeks after his first day on the job, barely out of training yet, I get a call from my buddy Frank at Key Food, find out Bishop’d already been fired.

– Or quit, whatever. Don’t remember the details, but he lasted all of two weeks at the place. I called in a favor to get him that job, and he embarrassed me in front of a good friend.

– Frank Doucoure. Over at Key Foods in Queens, near the bridge.

– No problem. Like I was saying though, I knew. I was just waiting for Bishop to shoot himself in the foot.

– I’m not a babysitter. These are grown ass men out here. They want to go back to prison, that’s their prerogative. I have a wife and son to feed and love, so I just do my job and hope that everybody else does theirs.

 Next

 (Follow The Blog For Daily Excerpts From Future Chapters)

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?