Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

101. Interview with Wayne “Classic” Price: Part 17

leave a comment »

11 July 2011

– Day after Earl quit, he comes at me with this shit I’da never thought I’d hear from his ass.

– Walks straight up on me at the crib and he’s like Classic, I need a piece.

– A gun, son. And bruh, Earl ain’t never called me Classic in his life.

– Was like I wasn’t even looking at fam no mo’, son. Nigga was a G now, know what I’m sayin’?

– That’s how he ran up on me, like we wasn’t fam, like we was business partners and shit. When he said that, that he needed a piece, I was like, a piece a what? Pussy?

– I’d been waitin’ for that bruh. You gotta need some pussy bein’ locked up for long as that nigga was, son. I coulda got him some too, bruh, no problem.

– But naw. Earl ain’t want none a that. Earl looked at me like I was stupid when I said that shit, too, and I felt stupid ‘cause, ain’t yo younger cuz—the nigga you helped raise up out the hood—supposed to stay yo little cuz forever?

– Shit, Earl wasn’t nobody’s little nothin’ no mo’, son. I know what he needed the piece for too, and I wasn’t goin’ stop the nigga from gettin’ his.

– So I call up one a my associates and tell him ta give me something small, ‘cause I know what Earl need for what he after, know what I’m sayin’?

– Got it to him the next day and Earl lookin’ at it like it’s his ticket to heaven, bruh. I’m lookin’ at the nigga and he lookin’ at his new toy and I gotta ask him, bruh. I gotta ask, Earl, why you call me Classic yesterday? You ain’t never called me Classic in yo’ life.

– And Earl says to me, that’s what people’s call you. Classic. It’s what you wanna be called. Man got a right to be called what he want, be what he wanna be. Do what he wanna do.

– He said all that shit, then he raised the piece and pointed it at the wall and smiled. First time I seen Earl smile since I picked his ass up from the bus station too. Never forget it, nigga looked crazy as hell, son. Scary shit, for real.

– Yeah, I thought ‘bout stoppin’ him. While he was packin’ up his shit and tellin’ me what to tell his P.O. if the muhfucka called, all that shit. Stood by the door to the bathroom while he was shavin’ off his beard, cuttin’ his hair, and I tried to tell him to stop the shit.

– But, bruh, Earl looked happy, son. First time since I picked his ass up from the bus station. He’s droppin’ his hair in the sink, starin’ in the mirror, and his eyes ain’t all angry lookin’ like they been for weeks. They smilin’, son. They smilin’ and when he was done, he smiled at me for real. Smiled, and the nigga looked like Earl again, bruh. I couldn’t stop the nigga when he was like that.

– Earl said fuck ‘em, son, told me to tell his P.O. the truth. I remember that. Told me if his P.O. called, I should tell his ass Earl had some shit to take care of so he bounced and he ain’t comin’ back. And, yeah, bruh, I was thinkin’ I should stop the nigga then too, from violatin’ his parole, from leavin’ here. He fuckin’ things up for himself, know what I’m sayin’? He fam, Classic. That’s what I said to myself. He fam. Stop him.

– But I couldn’t, bruh. Couldn’t even tell the nigga it was a bad idea. ‘Cause, for real, how I’m s’posed to know it’s a bad idea?

– Bruh, can’t nobody know what the fuck Earl was going through but Earl, know what I’m sayin’?

– Me tellin’ the nigga he need to stay his ass in Queens, that’s like me tellin’ you, straight up, I know who you is, son. I been through the same shit you been through in yo’ life, and I’m tellin’ you you doin’ it wrong, ‘cause I know better than you ‘bout who you is, bruh, know what I’m sayin’?

– But I ain’t know what Earl been through. I ain’t know shit ‘bout what Earl had goin’ on up in his head. I ain’t know shit ‘bout what he had planned for Tony neither.

– So, yeah, I let his ass go. You could write that shit down, son. I gave my cuz a gun and let him violate parole and go off to take some nigga out ‘cause he been through some shit I can’t relate to, bruh. And how I’ma look telling a nigga not to do somethin’ I probably’d a done my damn self if I was in his position?

Next

 (Follow The Blog For Daily Excerpts From Future Chapters)

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?