Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

85. Interview with Wayne “Classic” Price: Part 15

leave a comment »

11 July 2011

– Took the long way back after I got him.

– Wanted to let the nigga see his city, know what I’m sayin’?

– NY’s a bomb ass city, bruh. I figured it’d been, what, like four years since he seen it? Between college and the pen, nigga hadn’t been in the hood in a hot minute.

– So I’m tryna get him to liven up a little, know what I’m sayin’? Get some energy back in him. Pointing out the billboards and shit. But Earl ain’t say shit the whole way back. And the way he was lookin’ out the window [Wayne shakes his head] Wasn’t like a nigga who been locked up for two years and was happy to be out.

– Way Earl was lookin’ out that window, was like he wasn’t seein’ shit. Was like the nigga was still locked up. But in his head, know what I’m sayin’? Like he wished he was still back in his cell. Like the only reason he left was ‘cause they kicked his ass out.

– I told you, Earl’s ma passed while he was in prison. She always had heart problems. I ain’t tell Earl right then.

– I ain’t say nothin’ but I think her dyin’ had somethin’ to do with him too.

– His ma, she ain’t take that shit good when I told her ‘bout Earl bein’ in prison.

– I had to, bruh. I couldn’t lie to Aunt Sharon, man. That’s fam. I ain’t wanna tell her but I did. Told her Earl got locked up on some bullshit, some unjustifiable shit, but she still ain’t take that shit too well. Tried to get in contact with him, but I told her I ain’t know where he was locked up.

– She was ‘bout to fly down there, man. But then she got sick, and shit ain’t really turn out after that.

– I ain’t tell Earl all this though, ain’t even say nothin’ ‘bout her ‘til he asked. I thought they’d a told him she passed, while he was locked up, but naw.

– I remember that’s one a the only things he asked me while we was driving, when we damn near back at the crib. How’s his ma doing.

– I’da told him earlier if he’d called me while he was locked up, but like I said, I ain’t hear from the nigga the whole time he was in the pen.

– I ain’t want to tell him ‘bout his ma right then neither, but I had to. I ain’t goin’ hide it from the nigga, know what I’m sayin’? That’s fucked up to do some shit like that.

– He ain’t say nothin’ ‘bout it. To this day I don’t know if the nigga was mad or sad or what. I tried talkin’ to him ‘bout it but every time I asked him somethin’ he’d say like one word then shut up again.

– One a the times I asked was the night he told me ‘bout everything with Tony, couple weeks after he got back.

– When he told me ‘bout how he got locked up, man [Mr. Price shakes his head and claps his hands together], I hated that nigga Tony Stephens so fuckin’ much.

– That sonbitch fucked my cousin up, son. Earl wasn’t even my cuz no mo’ when I saw him. Nigga used to talk yo’ ass off, wouldn’t never shut the fuck up. know what I’m sayin’?

– But now? Now he was on some other shit, bruh. Whole time he stayed at my place, it was like living with some homeless nigga I just met and brought back to my crib.

Next

 (Follow The Blog For Daily Excerpts From Future Chapters)

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?