Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

67. Interview with Samuel Silverstein: Part 2

leave a comment »

11 July 2011

[Mr. Silverstein takes a moment to receive a call from a client, stepping into a separate room in his office. The main room is complete with its own shower, closet, couch and big screen TV. He finishes up and returns to his chair, leaning back]

– Apologies. Business.

[Mr. Silverstein lets out a hearty laugh] Honest opinion?

– Honestly, all joking aside, Detective Bennett and Earl Bishop were the best things that happened to me.

– I saw Bishop’s file before I heard how they picked him up. I caused the scene because I knew the case was a no-win situation if I couldn’t find an out. A straight up trial would have been career suicide. So I counted on somebody making a mistake. Didn’t think it would be that sort of mistake but, hey, take what I can get.

– [Mr. Silverstein shakes his head] Honestly, though, Detective Bennett’s got one hell of a left hook.

– Well…I came in there expecting a few things. I expected that somebody had done something minor against protocol; searching Bishop’s place without a proper warrant, roughing him up a little too much, failing to read his rights.

– Tallahassee officers aren’t as experienced in this sort of thing as NYPD. It’s harder to pull something like what I did back then up here, more of a challenge.

– I appreciate it, keeps me on my toes, but every once in a while I miss the…simplicity of the South.

– First thing I saw when I walked into the department was the kid’s bruised forehead and the small gash across his arm from the hook of the handcuffs. And even with that there was a slim chance I’d be able to use any of it as leverage in a case like this.

– But there was only a split second for a decision, and if there’s anything I learned back in law school it’s to go with what you’ve got. So I ran into that room and threw everything I had at those detectives, every bit of legal speak I could think of. [Mr. Silverstein shrugs] And Detective Bennett, gentleman that he is, handed me the trial on a silver platter.

Next

 (Follow The Blog For Daily Excerpts From Future Chapters)

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?