Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

61. Interview with Rose Flagler: Part 1

leave a comment »

who is anthony stephens?

Rose Flagler is the owner of Flagler Bed and Breakfast in St. Augustine, FL, where Anthony Stephens is said to have stayed for the night on his way down to Boca Raton.  Mrs. Flagler is a stereotypical grandmotherly type, with a plate of cookies and a glass of milk perpetually present on her dining table. Outside, Mr. Flagler is mowing the lawn and Mrs. Flagler stares at him with obvious affection in her eyes.

14 July 2011

– Frank and I don’t ask very much of our visitors.

– Frank’s retired from IBM a few years ago, so the bed and breakfast is my business venture mostly. And the way I see it, business is business, can’t be too picky. Most people that stop by are respectable enough anyhow. Every once in a while we’ll get a crazy or two, but it happens so rarely that it’s worth more in entertainment value than stress. Lord knows we don’t need to stress about anything. It’s bad for your nerves, you know, stress is. Gets deep in your back and you can’t even sleep at night until it’s gone. But you should hear the stories, my Lord. We have stories people would never believe.

– Yes, the man you described on the phone, I remember him. Unusual boy.

– Not bad. Just unusual. Not a problem, just…memorable.

– There’s not very much that can rile us up at this point. I can’t tell the last time we’ve had to kick somebody out, been so long. And like I said, most people are respectable, don’t damage the furniture or anything like that. Nothing some bleach and a wash cloth can’t fix at least. And Mr. Stephens, he was one of the more calm ones. Didn’t break anything or cause any trouble.

– Very sullen though, that’s what I remember. He came by himself, wouldn’t give us a first name, just his last. Just…Stephens. He had a bag with him and a notebook that he clutched at his side as if it were his life, like he’d murder anybody that tried to take it from him.

– That’s the feeling I got, like he was a caged animal or something. Dark fellow. Clothes, skin, personality, all of it.

[Mrs. Flagler nods then gives a small grimace] I don’t want to seem like I’m coming down on him though. I’m being a little too harsh, now that I think about it.

– It’s just, I know how this generation is, with all the magazines and Music Television telling you all to be this way and that.

– Long ago came to the conclusion that it’s not immaturity that makes you all like this either, it’s just your generation. My generation hasn’t had to accept the same things yours has.

– If I were to sit and watch Music Television all day and see all the things you’ve got to see I’d be depressed too.

– It’s not inexperience either, it’s…you’re all saturated. That’s why I stick with Food Network myself, leave the rest of that stuff alone. The only time food’s depressing is when you don’t have any. [Mrs. Flagler chuckles and puts a hand to her mouth] Lord, that’s a clever one. The only depressing thing about food is when there’s none left. That’s a plan to live your life by if I ever heard one.

Next

 (Follow The Blog For Daily Excerpts From Future Chapters)

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?