Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

54. Interview with Wayne “Classic” Price: Part 9

leave a comment »

11 July 2011

– I mean, kinda both, know what I’m sayin’?

– Bruh, it’s like this. Earl had this heat in him when he talked to me ‘bout Tony. You could tell the brotha hated that nigga on some deep shit, know what I’m sayin’?

– I’m sayin’, Earl was heated bout Tony, you get me? Could see it in his face when he told me all this shit. Like he was tryna hide it from me but it wasn’t workin’, like he thought he’d just up and snap on a nigga if he let that shit out too much.

– But when he talked ‘bout that fire, bruh—shit wasn’t like that. He’d talk ‘bout the fire and that hostility’d disappear.

– Nigga’d be mad as hell for like an hour talkin’ ‘bout Tony, lookin’ like he ‘bout to cap the nigga right outside the hall. Then he’d get on ‘bout settin’ that fire, and his eyes would be lit, like he was high or something.

– Nigga could tell you everything too, son. I’m talkin’, the smell a the gas hittin’ his nose, fillin’ up his chest while he fillin’ up the house, pourin’ that shit all over them tagged-up[1] walls and that wrinkly old body, soakin’ some old, piss-smellin’ couch in the middle a the living room.

– Said they used ‘bout six tanks a gas, had ta hit up six different gas stations so nobody’d ask no questions. Keep the muhfuckin’ poh-leece guessin’, know what I’m sayin’? But it weren’t even that, bruh. Way this nigga told me ‘bout doin’ all that shit, weren’t nothin’ compared to how he talked ‘bout them matches, bruh.

– Way Earl talked ‘bout them matches, you’d think it was a stack a blunts or somethin’. Told me how he lit ‘em and held ‘em until his fingers was damn near cookin’, then he dropped the whole book and walked out the spot. By then, guess where Tony muhfuckin Stephens at?

– Damn right, outside. Bitch ass nigga. Sound ‘bout right, don’t it? Muhfucka booked it out the crib soon as he smelt the gas.

– Like I said, nigga made Earl do most a that shit by his self, son. That muhfucka Tony just watched. The house went up soon as they came out too, and by time Earl got to the car, the roof a the house was already fallin’ and the poh-leece was on they way. Earl and Tony heard ‘em wailin’ and hopped in Tony’s truck and bounced, Earl drivin’ ‘cause Tony started bitchin’ out. Tried to change his mind in the middle a the shit, know what I’m sayin’? Earl said he was all cryin’ in the back. And Earl just starin’ at the house in the rearview mirror, watchin’ that shit burn.

– I don’t know ‘bout ‘enjoy’, son. I ain’t goin’ say the nigga ‘enjoyed’ that shit.

– Tony fucked Earl up, bruh. Earl wasn’t cool with that shit. All I’m sayin’ is, the house, man. There was somethin’ ‘bout burnin’ that house down that got in Earl’s head, bruh. Changed him. Brought out a side a my cuz I ain’t never seen before.


What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?