Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

38. Interview with Wayne “Classic” Price: Part 7

leave a comment »

11 July 2011

– Yeah, that’s what I was sayin’. Earl was like, hell naw nigga, when Tony came at him with that shit.

– So Tony backs up, stutterin’ and shit, says to Earl that he’s just playin’, he ain’t really tryin’ to kill hisself. Then he says he just wants to fake it.

– Ever heard a that shit? Sounded like somethin’ outta them movies Earl be watchin’ all the time, bruh. Shit like that don’t work in real life. Tony wanna fake his death and he tellin’ Earl that Earl gotta help him ‘cause Earl the only nigga Tony got on his side, or some shit like that.

– Yeah, told Earl that shit—that faking his death bullshit—was the answer to all his problems, you know what I’m sayin’? You gotta watch out for niggas like that, son. Niggas that say one bitch move’s goin’ fix all they problems. Can’t stand that shit, niggas livin’ in a dream world. Everybody got problems, son. That’s a part a life. Difference between livin’ and survivin’s how you deal with yo own shit, know what I’m sayin’? Niggas like Tony, they pussies, bruh. They ain’t got no balls. Moment things get hard they come ‘round bitchin’ and cryin’, askin’ for handouts and shit.

– Yeah. Earl heard all that shit Tony had to say and fell in line. My fault right there too. Just like him sayin’ fuck you to Tony at first was all me, him givin’ in to the nigga was on me too, son. That’s my bad right there, ‘cause that’s the other thing I taught Earl, you know what I’m sayin’?

– Loyalty, bruh. Told him from he was a young’n, you can’t trust yuh niggas then yuh niggas can’t trust you, and then you ain’t got shit, you know?

– What they call that—conflictin’ resources?

– Yuh, Earl had his head all mixed up with different types a lessons and shit, son, and Tony took advantage a it. Saw a crack in Earl and dived right into the nigga. Kept at his ass, sayin’ all types a bullshit like: you my nigga, man, help a brother out man, let me get my shit together. Starts remindin’ Earl how they met, boys from day one. Pattin’ Earl on the back and sayin’ shit like, remember that time in chemistry when professor who-gives-a-shit got mad ‘cause we was high as shit and kept giggling in the back a the class?

– I mean, really tryna push Earl’s homeboy buttons, bruh, know what I’m sayin’? Ain’t that some shit? Nigga put the guilt trip on Earl so he’d help him disappear, so Earl’d take the fall for him. Kept spittin’ more and more bullshit ‘til Earl was like, aight, bruh, what’s the plan you got?

– And that was the defeat right there, son. Earl gave in right there. You can’t back out no mo’ when you in that deep, you know what I’m sayin’? Shady ass nigga, Tony Stephens.

– Said it once and I’ma say it again: any how I see his bitch ass in the street, there’s goin’ be some heads rollin’ in this muhfucka. For real.

Next

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?