Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

28. Interview with Catherine D’Amico: Part 6

leave a comment »

24 June 2011

[Ms. D’Amico sighs and gazes out the window] You know, there are things I regret in my life. And I know there were things Tony regretted. But I don’t regret meeting him, and I don’t think he regretted doing what he did.

– The only thing he regretted was letting Earl take the fall. You don’t know how hard it was for him to even ask Earl for help in the first place. He almost didn’t ask him, and he said he would have backed off immediately if Earl hadn’t been so eager. He said Earl was the one who planned most of it, actually.

– Tony was devastated about how Earl got blamed for it all, even though it was Earl’s idea. And if Earl had known that, known that Tony was extremely sorry for everything that happened, maybe he wouldn’t have taken him away from me, away from his kid. Maybe my son wouldn’t be growing up right now without a fath— [Ms. D’Amico’s voice cracks, and she pauses. After a moment, she gives a pained smile] But, then, things are never that simple, are they?

Next

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?