Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

18. Interview with Wayne “Classic” Price: Part 4

leave a comment »

11 July 2011

– Consolation my ass. Tony standin’ in Earl’s apartment cryin’ and snottin’ all over the place and shit ‘cause some heifer who was fuckin’ him on the side ain’t want his ass no more. Nigga ain’t need no consolation in that situation. Needed a kick in the head. And, way Earl told me, Tony knew ‘bout it, too. Tony standin’ there mad as hell, actin’ like a little bitch, but he can’t say nothin’ to Louise ‘cause he knew the whole goddamn time she was triflin’. He knew he was the nigga-on-the-side, knew he was her backup player, he just ain’t let on that he knew, know what I’m sayin’? And the nigga still wanna flip when she drop his ass.

– Bruh, I wish I coulda seen Tony, explained the situation to him, you know what I’m sayin’? Laid it out like a blueprint, step by step like, Tony, bruh, homegirl wanna set things right with her star player,son. [Mr. Price claps his hands together in excitement] She don’t want Tony “Pussy Whooped” Stephens in the dugout no more, know what I’m sayin’? Not to say she ain’t havin’ tryouts for a replacement sub, or that she ain’t already got some other brother waitin’ for his turn at bat. She just don’t want Tony hoggin’ up the bench no mo’, know what I’m sayin’? Ain’t that some shit?

– I wish I coulda seen this trick Louise too, bruh. Seen if she was worth all the shit this nigga got Earl into. Way Earl told me Tony was actin’, she betta been a dime[1]. I’m talkin’ a fat ass, son. I mean, a dime still ain’t worth yo life. But it’s betta than gettin’ capped[2] over some hoodrat bitch. I bet she wasa hoodrat though. I bet Louise was some coked-out-looking heifer. Matter a fact, I guarantee it. Brothers like that, who get like that over a bitch, it ain’t never a fine piece a ass they trippin’ over, naw. It’s always some trick two months away from her third baby and a herpes outbreak, spendin’ her welfare check on formula and weed, you know what I’m sayin’? I see ‘em ‘round here everyday, bruh. Shit, they half my clientele.


[1] A “dime” is a woman who ranks a ten on a fabricated scale of beauty, ten being the most desirable and one being the least.

[2] “Capped”: slang term for murder, mostly used by people who never have or would ever actually murder somebody.

Next

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?