Who Is Anthony Stephens?

The Life and Death of a College Grad

02. Interview with Catherine D’Amico: Part 1

leave a comment »

Who Is Anthony Stephens?

Catherine D’Amico is the initial witness to the events surrounding Anthony Stephens’ death. Ms. D’Amico is an attractive young woman, though it’s obvious the stress of this situation has left her fairly dilapidated. She sits in a local coffee shop in Boca Raton, Florida wearing a pair of tattered jeans and a pink tank top; there are bags beneath her eyes and her shoulders are slouched. Caught up in her thoughts, Ms. D’Amico gazes out the window for long periods of time in between speaking.

24 June 2011

– It’s okay. I’m okay.

– Why am I speaking to you?

– I have no clue. Because you asked. And nobody else has.

– Who told you that?

– Whatever, I don’t care. You want to know about Les, I can tell you about Les.

– Tony. That’s what I said, Tony.

– Les? Les was just…some guy.

– Yeah, ok. I guess. I understand the confusion, actually. Must seem pretty strange from the outside. Strange enough from the inside.

– Did I know Tony well? [Ms. D’Amico laughs long and hard, then wipes her eyes and gives a pained smile] I’m sorry, it’s just—know him well? I didn’t know Tony at all.

– If you asked me if Tony and I talked sometimes, the answer would be yes. Or if you asked if we had sex often, or if I used to wish we could someday, maybe, possibly be in the type of long-term relationship that possessed some inkling of stability, then the answer to both would be yes. If you asked me if Tony was the father of my son, or if I was in love with him when he died, then yes, but know him? [Ms. D’Amico chuckles again] Impossible.

Next

What Do You Think About The Story Progression So Far? Any Suggestions?